Shirred eggs

My dad used to make shirred eggs on weekend mornings when my brother and I were kids. He would make them mostly when my mom was out of town because they are basically eggs mixed with heavy cream, butter, and cheese, so they’re not the healthiest breakfast. Every once in a while I wake up craving a meal different than my usual carbohydrate-heavy morning oatmeal. If I’m patient enough to wait for the oven to heat up, then shirred eggs are the perfect savory, yet decadent, way to start my day.

Shirred eggs have many variations, such as adding chives, using gruyere instead of parmesan, or mixing in some bacon before cooking. They are also very similar to the French eggs en cocotte, which differ only in that they are baked in a water bath (this allows the dish to cook more evenly, but also takes longer and uses more pans). I typically use a toaster oven if I’m only making one serving because there’s no need to waste energy firing up a giant conventional oven for a tiny 6 oz dish. You may notice that I recommend using a ramekin, but don’t in the picture. That’s because I don’t own one and I’m trying not to spend money on things I don’t need at the moment. But if you have ramekins, that’s really the way you should go.

Anyway, shout out to the Stanford football team, which beat Cal yesterday 21-3 in the Big Game! I’ve mostly been bumming around all weekend, but went to see Ben Affleck’s Argo yesterday with my cousin. It was an interesting perspective on the Iranian hostage crisis and definitely recommend seeing it next time you go to the movies.

Ingredients

  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tbsp heavy cream
  • 1/4 tbsp butter
  • 2 tbsp parmesan cheese
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions

  1. Oil the inside of an individual-sized (6 oz) ramekin.
  2. Pour the heaving cream into the ramekin and crack the two eggs on top.
  3. Season with salt and pepper. Sprinkle top with parmesan cheese.
  4. Bake at 325 F for 12-15 minutes. You want the eggs whites to be completely set, but still have runny yolks.

Leave a Reply

