Chocolate banana nut muffins

Happy Election Day! While I am currently figuring out my post-college life in Northern California, I voted via absentee ballot in my home state of Ohio for today’s election. For the past few weeks, my super politically active parents have been haranguing me about registering to vote and then actually sending in my ballot. I’ve never not voted, so I’m not sure why they had their panties in a bunch, questioning my ability to get to the polls. It’s pretty hard to forget the election during campaigning season and I am generally a very involved citizen, but my dad justifies their constant nagging by saying, “It matters, Claire, it matters”. And it does, so I’ll take the nagging for now.

While I would have enjoyed voting on California’s propositions–genetically modified foods, school taxes, and the like–the presidential election seems to trump everything else in terms of importance every 4 years. So I did the obvious thing and voted in the swing state because that’s where my vote “counts” more.
There are entire books written on the silliness of the electoral college system, so I’m not gonna dwell on it too much, but I do have to say that it feels weird or wrong how my swing state vote is so important compared to others’ votes in different parts of the country. But since I have the opportunity to make a difference in a close election, Ohio it is.

On to the chocolate banana nut muffins. We bought one too many bananas on Sunday and it has been warmer than normal this week, so now we have one too many ripe bananas. What does one do with rotting bananas? Make baked goods. These muffins are lightly sweet and mildly chocolatey, but not too cloyingly sweet or overly decadent that I’d call them cupcakes. Just simple, All-American-style muffins.

Ingredients

  • 6 tbsp butter, melted and cooled
  • 2 overripe bananas, mashed
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 brown sugar, light or dark
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1/3 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1/3 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions

  1. Mix wet ingredients in a large bowl: melted butter, mashed bananas, egg, brown sugar, vanilla.
  2. Mix dry ingredients in a separate bowl: white flour, wheat flour, baking soda, salt, cocoa powder.
  3. Combine wet and dry ingredients. Stir until thoroughly mixed.
  4. Add chopped walnuts and chocolate chips. Stir.
  5. Spray a muffin tin with cooking spray and divide batter evenly between 6 tins. Cook at 350F for about 20 minutes.

One thought on “Chocolate banana nut muffins

Leave a Reply

