Nutella Cookie Thins

Big news! I started work as a clinical medical writer for a medium-sized pharmaceutical company this week. I am pretty excited about the opportunity and I hope to learn a lot about how clinical trials are run and set-up. So far, the project has been going well and I have gained a lot of knowledge about the particular drug class and disease state that I am working on. The work seems pretty individually-driven and most of my co-workers are much older in age (think 20+ years older), so it’s a bit of adjustment from being surrounded by tons of energetic college kids all the time. Mostly, I hope this job will give me the experience and background knowledge important for my long-term goal of becoming a physician or working in clinical operations, but I am also glad to be contributing to projects that will impact a person’s health and standard of living.

I went to three Thanksgivings in the past two days, all with my friends or Matt’s friends (I’d love to see my family too, but I couldn’t make it to Ohio this year). Matt’s house, a vegetarian co-op named Drop Ship Dharma, hosted the first Thanksgiving dinner on Friday. We cooked some really interesting options to accommodate all the vegetarians, vegans, meat-eaters, and those keeping kosher at the party. Some highlights included chocolate avocado pie with date crust, homemade hibiscus beer, barbeque seitan, salt-brined and beer-steamed turkey, and pumpkin cinnamon rolls. We had about thirty people total over to the house and had to build a table out of plywood to be able to seat everyone. It was pretty crazy trying to cook elaborately for that many people and we ended up using every dish, pan, utensil, and tupperware in Drop Ship (cleanup was also about 4 hours, boo).

While food should be the last thing on my mind after stuffing my face with one too many Thanksgiving meals, I decided to make Nutella Cookie Thins this morning. I was a bit lazy and didn’t feel like coming up with a recipe of my own, so I browsed Pinterest for a bit and came across this one from Baking Bites. These cookies are light, crispy and have a mild chocolatey flavor. The flavor is more like sugar cookies than Nutella, but nevertheless good. Hope you have a good holiday week!

Ingredients

  • 1 egg
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar, light or dark
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 3/4 cup (12 tbsp) butter
  • 6 tbsp nutella
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 tbsp baking soda
  • 1 and 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 3/4 cup oatmeal, quick cooking

Directions

  1. Mix wet ingredients in a large bowl: egg, egg yolk, sugar, brown sugar, vanilla, butter, and nutella.
  2. Mix dry ingredients in a separate bowl: flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, and oatmeal.
  3. Combine wet and dry ingredients. Mix thoroughly.
  4. Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper and scoop 1/2-1 tbsp dough onto it for each cookie. Bake at 350 F for about 12 minutes.

Leave a Reply

