Apple crumble pie

While I could tell you about my recent holiday shenanigans or the never-ending California winter rain, the biggest changes in my life right now revolve around my new job. So far, I am enjoying my position as a clinical medical writer. It’s a bit of an adjustment working with colleagues my parents’ age and not having immediate feedback on my work (I guess real life doesn’t have A+’s), but nothing I can’t handle. I have especially liked learning about different aspects of pharmaceutical regulatory affairs from my current project writing a Clinical Study Report (CSR).

Coming from a stressful last quarter of college, life with a full-time job is good. It’s nice working diligently from 9am-6pm and then simply being done after work. I love not having to stress about problem sets and papers and also that I no longer feel bad about setting aside a huge chunk of my day to do something fun rather than “productive”. (Not to knock down academia. I love school and plan on returning soon, but it’s nice to have a change of pace for a bit.) Having money is certainly a huge plus too.

This morning, granny smith apples were on sale at the Milk Pail Market, so I decided to make a pie. You might call this recipe half-pie, half-crumble because it has both a crust and a crumble topping, but “prumble” and “crumbie” aren’t the best portmanteaus I’ve ever heard. It’s delicious nevertheless and, aside from my tricep getting oddly sore from paring the apples, it’s a pretty easy dessert to bake.

IMG_9857

IMG_9866

Pie Ingredients

  • 1 uncooked pie crust
  • 5 granny smith apples
  • 2-3 tbsp flour
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp salt

Crumble Topping Ingredients

  • 1 cup oatmeal
  • 4 tbsp melted butter
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon

Directions

  1. Line a pie pan with pie crust and set aside. A homemade or store-bought crust will do.
  2. Remove the skins from the apples and cut them into small pieces.
  3. In a large bowl, mix together the apple filling ingredients: sliced apples, flour sugar cinnamon, and salt.
  4. In a separate bowl, mix together the crumble topping ingredients: oatmeal, butter, sugar, and cinnamon.
  5. Place the apple filling in the pie crust and top it with the crumble topping mixture.
  6. Bake the pie at 350F for about 40 minutes, or until the crumble topping is golden brown.

IMG_9869

Signature

Leave a Reply

