Blackberry and sweet lemon cream crepe cake

I made about 15 crepes and stacked them into a cake, layering sweet lemon cream cheese and homemade blackberry preserves in between.

IMG_0066

IMG_0067

IMG_0072

While cooking, I sometimes listen to NPR on the radio. Part 1 of a This American Life program on gun violence in a Chicago high school was so interesting that I decided to make fondant icing for the crepe cake, so that I would have an excuse to listen to Part 2. I’ve never made fondant before and it was surprisingly easy. As you can probably tell from the pictures, I still have a ways to go on my fondant shaping skills because the cake turned out kind of lumpy. (I’m thinking that it may be due to the lumpy shape of the cake underneath, but I guess it doesn’t look so bad.)

IMG_0082

IMG_0086

I got my MCAT scores back this past week and I am incredibly relieved that I do not have to take the test again (or spend ~$300 to do so). Between work and writing medical school application essays, I haven’t been cooking or posting on the blog very much, but hopefully some of the craziness in my life will settle down soon and I’ll be posting more regularly again.

Signature

Leave a Reply

